SIP is a summer-long research internship program for high school students in STEM fields. UCSC faculty, graduate students, and postdoctoral researchers provide one-on-one mentoring of these high school interns as they are inserted into existing real research projects here on campus. SIP provides an intense research experience that improves students’ understanding of the value of scientific study and informs their consideration of future careers in these disciplines.

The Siemens Foundation established the Siemens Competition in Math, Science & Technology which has become the nation’s premier science research competition for high school students and seeks to promote excellence by encouraging students to undertake individual or team research projects such as those available through SIP.

Congratulations to the 2016 SIP interns who were named as Siemens Competition regional finalists and semifinalists! A huge thank you to their mentors as well.

Two 2016 SIP interns were named regional finalists in the 2016 Siemens Competition; twenty-one 2016 SIP interns and one 2015 SIP intern were named semifinalists. The total number of 2016 Siemens semifinalists across the globe is 498, of whom 81 are in the state of California. SIP interns from the 2016 program constitute about a quarter of the state of California’s pool of Siemens semifinalists.

The full list of 2016 Siemens regional finalists can be found here and the full list of semifinalists can be found here.

SIP 2016 interns who are regional finalists:

    Arushi Sahai (Menlo School) [AST]
    Andrew Shao (Lynbrook High School) [AST]

SIP 2016 interns who are semifinalists:

    Ze’ev Bernstein (Pacific Collegiate School) [EEB]
    Jerry Chen (Harker School) [AST]
    Gabriel Damon (Santa Cruz High School) [AST]
    Rachel Guo (Irvington High School) [AST/2016 Caltech; 2015 UCSC]
    Sahil Hegde (Prospect High School) [AST]
    Anita Ilango (Cupertino High School) [AST]
    Megha Ilango (Cupertino High School) [AST]
    Anika Kamath (Crystal Springs Uplands School) [AST]
    Connie Miao (Harker School) [AST]
    Joshua Pan (Proof School) [ENV]
    Arushi Sahai (Menlo School) [AST]
    Alyssa Sales (Castilleja School) [AST]
    Atmika Sarukkai (Castilleja School) [AST]
    Anish Seshadri (St. Francis High School) [AST]
    Andrew Shao (Lynbrook High School) [AST]
    Shivani Sundaram (Monta Vista High School) [EEB]
    Dipashreya Sur (Notre Dame High School) [EEB]
    Austin Tuan (Phillips Academy) [AST]
    Carolyn Wang (Henry M. Gunn High School) [AST]
    Justin Xie (Harker School) [AST/2016 Caltech]
    Shawn Zhang (Amador Valley High School) [AST]

SIP alumni from past years who are 2016 semifinalists:

    Jimmy Lin (Harker School) [AST/2015]

SIP 2016 primary mentors and faculty advisors whose interns who are semifinalists:

    Graeme Baird [ENV]; faculty advisor: Carol Shennan
    Vikram Baliga [EEB]; faculty advisor: Rita Mehta
    Caleb Bryce [EEB]; faculty advisor: Terrie M. Williams
    Raja GuhaThakurta [AST]
    Evan Kirby [AST/Caltech]
    Christoph Lee [AST]; faculty advisor: Joel Primack
    Laura Prichard [AST]; faculty advisor: Raja GuhaThakurta
    Aldo Rodriguez [AST]; faculty advisor: Joel Primack
    Aaron Romanowsky [AST]; faculty advisor: Jean Brodie
    Elisa Toloba [AST]; faculty advisor: Raja GuhaThakurta
    Jose Torres [AST]; faculty advisor: Raja GuhaThakurta